October 2015 Photo Contest - Results

October 2015 Photo Contest - Results

Category Photo Contest

By Sandhya UC


For the October 2015 Photo Contest, we received few of the best pictures we have seen of Goechala, Roopkund and a few other treks. It’s heartening to see that so many of our trekkers have a keen eye for photography! Keep it going! Here are the Top Four Winning Photographs! The third place is shared by two trekkers. Congratulations! Hope you all go on many more treks and capture more beautiful pictures! 


Sangram Bongale – Roopkund

Photographs are rare that capture man, animal and mountains well. Rarest of rare are those photographs that evoke a strong emotion when you see them. Sangram’s photograph brings alive the deep bond that humans and animals have with the mountains. We love it!


Shreenivasa K S – Rupin Pass

Shreenivasa’s capture of a village girl is good enough to get to the cover of a magazine. It is never easy to get children to pose, get the expression right and make them look beautiful, human and innocent. Shreenivasa has managed to perhaps click a photograph that will long be an envy of even professional photographers.


Kartik Kariya – Goechala

Kartik’s photograph of Dzongri top has terrific composition. Dzongri top on the Goechala trail is a photographer’s delight. Innumerable photographers have tried to give a fresh perspective to this location. Kartik not only manages to do that, he lifts the photograph by many notches with is brilliant play of light.

Joint 2nd RUNNER UP

Shantanu Biswas – Roopkund

Shantanu’s photograph of the bright colourful tents set against the grim, dark background of Bhagwabasa camp is a superb play of colours and composition. The photograph tells the story of life in a desolate land.


1. Kartik Kariya: Goechala

2. Krishnaraj Chavan: Roopkund

3. Anirban Sengupta: Goechala

4. Samaj Shekhar: Har-Ki-Dun

5. Sangram Bongale: Roopkund

6. Santhosh Nayak: Goechala

7. Arunabha Dey: Rupin Pass

8. Shreenivasa K: Rupin Pass

9. Shantanu Biswas: Roopkund

10. Mayuri Deo: Roopkund

11. Anirban Sengupta (2): Goechala


12. Shantanu Biswas: Roopkund

We will announce the winners on December 1st. 

Watch this space for more.

Sandhya UC

Co-Founder & COO

About the author

Sandhya is a founding partner at Indiahikes. Over the past ten years, she has explored and put on the map few of the greatest Himalayan treks in India, including Kashmir Great Lakes and Kedarkantha. She is a TedX Speaker and has been awarded the Women of Worth Award by Outlook Business in 2017.

She believes in sustainable living just as she believes in sustainable trekking.

Read a feature on Sandhya in Outlook Business

Read Sandhya's other articles

Read Sandhya's TedX Talk
How I Climbed The Mountain Of Entrepreneurship